Tags

,

My travel companion on the train was a dentistry student from Iran studying in Budapest. She was touring cities in Eastern Europe with her family who was over for her graduation. She was unsure of what she wanted to do and where she wanted to live. I slept for the first hour of the journey as we passed through the Slovak countryside, waking up only when we were fairly to the south. We crossed over into Hungary at Esztergom with the mighty Danube sparkling to the right and the Esztergom Basilica looming over the river bend. Of course I didn’t know what it was then but was suuitably impressed. We passed Visegrad and Vac. When we arrived in Budapest, I said goodbye to my travel companion and dragged my suitcase, booking a taxi using a number my companion had given me. Budapest Keleti Palyaudvar or Keleti station is another example of fine architecture.

